How it works
By using Sprend you can easily transfer files which are too large to send by email. This is how it works:
- The sender uploads a file of any size to the service providers server.
- When the upload has finished an email message is sent to the file recipient.
- The recipient opens the email and clicks on the link.
- The link takes the recipient to the page where the download is started with one click.
- When the download has finished the file is then deleted from the server.
By letting the file take the detour via our server both the sender and recipient are spared the trouble of jammed email boxes and limitations concerning attached files. The fact is that the detour becomes a short cut!
Using a pin code is an alternative to sending a link via email, see “Pin code” section below.
- In the current version the file size is limited to 2 GB.
- The file is automatically deleted after 7 days (21 days for Sprend Pro users) if it has not been downloaded by this time.
- When the file is downloaded the first time it will be re-scheduled for deletion 2 hours after first download.
File transferring with Sprend requires the same caution observed when you attach files to email.
- Just like in the case of email, the file is not encrypted. To ensure noone can access your file encrypt it before uploading.
- Use virus protection before opening downloaded files.
The Pin code is an alternative to sending a link via email. This is what you do:
- When you upload the file, tick “Use Pin code”.
- When the upload has finished the Pin code will be shown. Remember the Pin code.
- In order to download the file, select “Download with Pin code” in the menu.
- Type in the Pin code using upper or lower case letters. Select “Search for file”.
- The download page for your file will now be shown.
The Pin code only contains four numbers and letters in order to make it easy to remember. The risk of somebody typing in your Pin code exactly is after all small, about one in a million.
File transfer details are stored in order to complete the transfer.
After a file transfer has finished this information is kept for statistical purposes. It may also be used to enable users to view their transfer history.
Details concerning an individual transfer will never be published or given to a third party unless required by law.
Each file is permanently deleted after the storage time has expired. Individual files are only accessed if explicit consent has been given by sender, for example to facilitate troubleshooting.
We may choose to serve ads when you visit our website.
When ads are served by Google Adsense, Google may use information (not including your name, address, email address, or telephone number) about your visits to this and other websites in order to provide advertisements about goods and services of interest to you. If you would like more information about this practice and to know your choices about not having this information used by Google, click here.
Cookies are used to enable some functionality such as logging in and remembering user’s choice of language.